ISA Proud to Welcome Vans as Presenting Sponsor of 2019 ISA World Surfing Games

Ver Noticia en Español

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is thrilled to announce the partnership of surf and action sports industry leader Vans as Presenting Sponsor for the 2019 ISA World Surfing Games (WSG) in Miyazaki, Japan September 7-15.

The inclusion of Vans marks the first time in ISA history that the original action sports footwear and apparel brand has been associated with the World Surfing Games.

Official logo of the 2019 ISA World Surfing Games presented by Vans. Official logo of the 2019 ISA World Surfing Games presented by Vans.


ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“We welcome Vans as a partner to our event. It’s an amazing moment in the history of the ISA and the World Surfing Games.

“We are stoked that Vans has understood and embraced the unique value of this year’s historic edition as a qualifying event for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

“Vans has a rich and vibrant history in the sport of surfing and we can’t wait to celebrate with them this momentous occasion.”

Bobby Gascon, Vans Global Director of Actions Sports, added:

“This is an exciting time for surfing world-wide, and Vans salutes ISA for championing diversity as part of their global vision.

“We’re excited to support the world’s surfing elite in their Olympic pursuits and look forward to partnering with the ISA in furthering the momentum of surfing culture on the world stage and beyond.”

South Africa's Michael February will compete in the World Surfing Games with his sight set on a ticket to Tokyo 2020. South Africa’s Michael February will compete in the World Surfing Games with his sight set on a ticket to Tokyo 2020. Photo: WSL / Morris

This edition of the WSG will make for one of the most exciting in history, featuring the the world’s best surfers from national Olympic teams across the globe.

Headlining talent includes World Surf League Champions Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), and Carissa Moore (USA), along with ISA WSG Champions Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), and Courtney Conlogue (USA), representing their nations and going for Gold in Miyazaki.

The 2019 ISA World Surfing Games Presented by Vans is also a qualifier itself, awarding Tokyo 2020 slots on a continental basis to the top finishing eligible men and women from Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The Americas’ qualification slots will be determined at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games in July.

With the Event Branding designed by world-renowned Japanese artist, Yusuke Hanai, the WSG will also feature an innovative two-day Surf Festival during the opening weekend of the event, showcasing the culture, food, music and lifestyle of surfing in Japan. The Festival will include well-known Japanese musicians such as Def Tech, HIRAIDAI and more.


About Vans

Vans®, a VF Corporation (NYSE: VFC) brand, is the original action sports footwear, apparel and accessories brand. Vans® authentic collections are sold in 84 countries through a network of subsidiaries, distributors and international offices. Vans® has over 2,000 retail locations globally including owned, concession and partnership doors. The Vans® brand promotes creative self-expression in youth culture across action sports, art, music and street culture and delivers progressive platforms such as the Vans Park SeriesVans Triple Crown of Surfing®Vans Pool PartyVans Custom Culture, and Vans’ cultural hub and international music venue, House of Vans.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit