France Wins Historic First-Ever Team World Championship at 2017 ISA World Surfing Games

Ver Noticia en Español

Individual competition set for Semifinals and Finals loaded with world-class talent on Sunday

ATTENTION MEDIA: For daily photos, video highlights and video news releases, visit

To view full results, visit:

For full team ranking, visit:

Heading into the final day of the 2017 ISA World Surfing Games, the ISA is pleased to officially announce that the host country Team France has made history and won their first-ever Team World Championship in the competition.

Semifinal performances by Jeremy Flores and Joan Duru along with Women’s Medals from Pauline Ado and Johanne Defay has taken Team France to the Gold Medal position. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

Team France got off to a spectacular start with Pauline Ado and Johanne Defay finishing with Gold and Silver in the Women’s Division earlier this week, and now Jeremy Flores and Joan Duru have advanced to the Men’s Semifinals on Sunday. With these results, no other team is in a position to reach France’s point totals.

With the team competition decided, the individual medals will still be highly contested on Sunday afternoon at Grande Plage, Biarritz. Eight surfers’ dreams of winning the Gold Medal are still alive. The Semifinal match ups are the following:

Semifinal 1:
Pedro Henrique (POR)
Jhony Corzo (MEX)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Vicente Romero (ESP)

Semifinal 2:
Jonathan González (ESP)
Yassine Ramdani (MAR)
Jordy Collins (USA)
Joan Duru (FRA)

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“Congratulations to Team France for winning their first-ever ISA World Surfing Games Team World Championship. An amazing accomplishment that should be saluted.

“We are only three years from the Olympic Games… Some of these surfers could very well be competing in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

“I am also very excited to see the universality of our sport in the semifinals with surfers from Europe, the Americas and Africa vying for the Gold Medal.”

Fans packed the beach at Grand Plage to get a glimpse of their favorite surfers in action. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The seventh day of competition kicked off with Round 3 and 4 in sunny, clean conditions at Grande Plage. The swell increased as expected and the remaining members of the 47 National Surfing Teams left it all in the ocean, pushing as hard as they could for a chance to advance to the final day to win a medal for their nations.

The only countries relatively closely trailing France struggled through Rounds 3 and 4, as teams that had solid results in the Women’s Division, such as Costa Rica and South Africa, lost the last of their remaining men.

The Quarterfinals finished off the day of competition in continued clean conditions and set the stage for the Semifinals to take place on Sunday.

In the first Quarterfinal, Portugal’s Pedro Henrique, who finished 5th at the 2016 edition, continued his on-point Surfing that has been on display all week and advanced onto the finals with the last African surfer remaining, Morocco’s Yassine Ramdani. Peru’s Cristobal de Col and France’s Dmitri Ouvre were eliminated, resulting in the first French elimination in the Men’s Division

One of the top highlights of the Quarterfinals was when the three remaining French surfers, Jeremy Flores, Vincent Duvignac, and Joan Duru, squared off in the same heat. Thousands flocked to Grand Plage to watch France’s top surfers compete at once. Jeremy Flores made it clear that he intends to win Gold and marked the event’s highest wave score thus far of 9.33. Flores’s heat total of 15.83 was the highest of the Quarterfinals and advanced him into the Semifinals along with teammate Joan Duru (11.10). Vincent Duvignac (FRA) and Luis Maria Iturria (URU) placed third and fourth respectively, ending their run in the event.

Vicente Romero leads the charge for Team Spain into the Quarterfinals. Photo: ISA / Ben Reed

The final Quarterfinal featured a heroic performance from the 18-year-old from Team USA Jordy Collins. Collins backed up his solid opening score of 6.23 with a huge aerial maneuver that catapulted him into first position, sending him through to the Semifinals along with Spain’s Vincente Romero. Portugal’s Miguel Blanco and Peru’s Juninho Urcia were left behind in third and fourth positions.

USA’s Jordy Collins shows skill well beyond his 18 years of age. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans

The final day of competition will take place at Grande Plage in Biarritz, France with the first call to start the event at 9:30am local time (CET). The event will be live streamed by the Olympic Channel and France TV, exemplifying the ISA’s strategy to bring Surfing to a wider, global audience.
Additionally, the ISA will run its unique Aloha Cup competition. The ISA Aloha Cup is a team relay event that includes the top eight teams from the 2016 ISA World Surfing Games in Costa Rica. Three men and one woman on each team surf in the relay, summing up the wave totals from each athlete in a 40 minute heat. The team that ends up having the highest overall heat score wins. The heats for the ISA Aloha Cup are as follows:

Semifinal 1

Costa Rica
New Zealand

Semifinal 2
The schedule for Sunday’s competition is as follows*:

9:30am call
2 Semifinals Open Men
1 Final Open Men
2 Semifinals ISA Aloha Cup
1 Final ISA Aloha Cup

*Schedule subject to change.

Watch the live webcast on

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 100 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).