10 Things to Know about the 2020 AmpSurf ISA World Para Surfing Championship

Ver Noticia en Español

The 2020 AmpSurf ISA World Para Surfing Championship (WPSC) is set to take to La Jolla Shores, USA March 11-15.

Here are the 10 things to know about the upcoming competition:

  1. Record-breaking participation 

Approximately 133 athletes from 22 countries are set to compete in the World Championship, surpassing the record of 120 that was set in 2018. 

The athlete participation has nearly doubled since the inaugural edition in 2015.

Canada’s Victoria Feige on her way to a Gold Medal in 2018. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans
Canada’s Victoria Feige on her way to a Gold Medal in 2018. Photo: ISA / Sean Evans 
  1. Striving for gender equality

In addition to the record number of athletes, 2020 will also see women compete in record numbers.

The 41 women pursuing Gold Medals break the record of 37 set in 2018, and continues a year over year trend of increased women’s participation in the event. 

  1. How to watch the event live online? 

The 2020 AmpSurf WPSC can be viewed live on www.isasurf.org March 11-15. 

Additionally, viewers can tune in on the ISA’s Facebook page and the Olympic Channel. 

  1. The divisions

As the discipline of Para Surfing continues to evolve, the ISA has updated the classification divisions in which the athletes compete in order to create the most level playing field.

Athletes will be grouped into one of 8 classifications depending on their particular physical conditions. Each classification will crown men and women World Champions. (Women Para Surf Stand 3 will not run due to no classified participants).

To see all sport classifications, click here

Brazil’s Henrique Saraiva celebrates upon earning his first Gold Medal in the event in 2018. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant
Brazil’s Henrique Saraiva celebrates upon earning his first Gold Medal in the event in 2018. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant
  1. Paralympic ambitions 

With Surfing set to make its Olympic debut in Tokyo 2020, the ISA believes that high performance and youthful values of Para Surfing also merit inclusion on the world’s greatest Para sporting stage.

The ISA has lobbied for the sport’s inclusion in the Paralympics and most recently applied for inclusion in the Santiago 2023 Para Pan Am Games.

  1. AmpSurf the Title Partner & the supporters

In 2020, AmpSurf will join the WPSC as the Title Partner for the first time, bringing their expertise in providing Adaptive Surfing therapy programs to veterans, adults, and children. 

The ISA would like to thank the presenting sponsors, Foundation for Global Sports Development and the City of San Diego, as well as event supporters that make the World Championship possible. 

  1. The World Champions 

In 2018, Team USA took the overall Team Gold Medal for the first time in the event’s history, breaking a two-year Gold Medal run from Team Brazil. 

The defending individual Gold Medalists competing in 2020 are the following: Bruno Hansen (DEN), Ann Yoshida (HAW), Samantha Bloom (AUS), Melisa Reid (ENG), Matthew Formston (AUS), Alana Nichols (USA), Victoria Feige (CAN), Henrique Saraiva (BRA), Freddy Marimon (COL), and Antony Smyth (RSA).

Denmark’s Hansen is the only competitor to earn a Gold Medal (4) in each edition of the event. 

Antony Smyth earns Gold with impressive surfing for Team South Africa. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant
Antony Smyth earns Gold with impressive surfing for Team South Africa. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant
  1. Social media

The ISA will be posting live updates, photos and videos from the competition on social media. Follow along on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube and don’t forget use the official hashtags #ISAworlds and #InspiredSurfers. 

Facebook: International Surfing Association (@ISAsurfing)
Instagram: @ISAsurfing
Twitter: @ISAsurfing
Youtube: ISAsurfing

  1. Fostering the future generations

The AmpSurf ISA Adaptive Surf Clinic will take place on Tuesday, March 10 from 8am-12pm at La Jolla Shores.

The purpose of the clinic is to provide an opportunity for athletes with physical challenges to experience the healing power and joy surfing, receiving instruction from top athletes and instructors. 

  1. The schedule

Tuesday March 10

  • AmpSurf ISA Adaptive Surf Clinic, 8am-12pm at La Jolla Shores

Wednesday March 11

  • Opening Ceremony, 9:30am-11:30am at Kellogg Park adjacent to La Jolla Shores
  • Competition, 1pm-4:30pm at La Jolla Shores 

Thursday March 12 – Sunday March 15

  • Competition 7am-4:30pm at La Jolla Shores

Sunday March 15

  • Closing Ceremony following the close of competition at La Jolla Shores 
About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para-Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit www.isasurf.org