Ver Noticia en Español

Denmark’s Bruno Hansen Wins Prone, Brazil’s Fellipe Lima Wins Upright, USA’s Jesse Billauer Wins Assist and Australia’s Mono Stewart Wins Stand

Mark “Mono” Stewart de Australia, el Medallista de Oro de Stand en el ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship. Photo: ISA/Reynolds
Australia’s Mark “Mono” Stewart, Stand Gold Medalist of the 2015 ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship. Photo: ISA/Reynolds

The inaugural ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship Presented by Challenged Athletes Foundation, Hurley, Stance and the City of San Diego, culminated on Sunday at La Jolla Shores in grand fashion, crowning the first-ever ISA World Adaptive Surfing Champions.

Demonstrating the international profile of this ISA World Championship, the Gold Medalists from four continents were greeted by a crowd of thousands. Adaptive surfers from 18 countries cheered them on, showcasing the international support that has been evident throughout the competition.

The newly crowned Gold Medalists were Bruno Hansen (DEN) in Prone, Jesse Billauer (USA) in Assist, Mark “Mono” Stewart (AUS) in Stand and Fellipe Lima (BRA) in Upright.

Fellipe Lima, who made history as the first athlete to receive a Gold Medal, said:

“I couldn’t be happier than I am now. It’s amazing to see this ISA World Championship happen. It has always been my dream, not just to be a World Champion, but also to see the sport grow. This is just the start.”

Fellipe Lima de Brasil corre una ola en camino a ganar el Oro en Upright. Photo: ISA/Lockwood
Brazil’s Fellipe Lima rides a wave on his way to earning the Gold Medal in Upright. Photo: ISA/Lockwood

The Upright Final was the first of the four Finals to take place, with Brazil’s Fellipe Lima scoring a heat total of 12.93 to earn him the title of the first ISA World Adaptive Surfing Champion. Following Lima were three athletes from the USA: Jeff Munson with Silver, Chris Oberle with Bronze and Freddy Carrillo with Copper.

USA’s Jesse Billauer got out to an early lead in the Assist Final that he never lost, earning Gold for the host country. Taking the Silver was fan favorite, 10-year-old Davi Teixeira from Brazil, followed by Juan Martin De Posadas from Uruguay with Bronze and the only female medalist, Darian Haynes from Hawaii with Copper.

El Medallista de Oro de Assist, Jesse Billauer (EE.UU.), comparte un momento con el Medallista de Plata, Davi Teixeira (BRA), después de la Final. Foto: ISA/Reynolds
Assist Gold Medalist, Jesse Billauer (USA), embraces the Silver Medalist, Davi Teixeira (BRA), after the Final. Photo: ISA/Reynolds

Billauer emotionally shared words with ISA President Fernando Aguerre after his heat.

“After I got injured, competition was not something that I thought about, and now I am the ISA World Champion. It’s amazing to be a part of this and have all of the countries involved.”

Bruno Hansen from Denmark put on an impressive performance en route to taking the Gold Medal in Prone. USA Team Captain, Christiaan Bailey, finished with the Silver Medal, Spain’s Alvaro Bayona with Bronze and USA’s Ryan Baker with Copper.

Hansen explained, “I’ve been training hard for ten years, trying to get my mind in the right place. I lost my way completely and Surfing brought me back to where I am.”

El podio de Prone de izquierda a derecha: Medallista de Oro Bruno Hansen (DEN), Medallista de Plata Christiaan Bailey(EE.UU.), Medallista de Bronce Alvaro Bayona (ESP) y Medallista de Cobre Ryan Baker (EE.UU). Foto: ISA/Reynolds
The Prone podium from left to right: Gold Medalist Bruno Hansen (DEN), Silver Medalist Christiaan Bailey (USA), Bronze Medalist Alvaro Bayona (ESP) and Copper Medalist Ryan Baker (USA). Photo: ISA/Reynolds

The Stand Final wrapped up the event in dramatic fashion. Australia’s Mark “Mono” Stewart narrowly earned the Gold Medal with a heat total of 11.13, edging out South Africa’s Antony Smyth’s score of 10.66. Rounding out the heat were Brazil’s Alcino “Pirata” Neto with Bronze and Hawaii’s Mike Coots with Copper.

The 52-year-old Stewart spoke about his accomplishment.

“It’s a dream come true. I think everyday I’ve had a tear in my eye seeing people who are so dedicated and love the ocean as much as I do.

“I’ve been waiting 35 years for this event, but I now know that the sky is the limit with Adaptive Surfing. The future is in the hands of all the young people you’ve seen here this week. I can’t wait to see what happens next.”

ISA President Fernando Aguerre spoke after the Closing Ceremony.

“This is an ISA World Championship that will be talked about for years to come. Adaptive Surfing history has been made in La Jolla. I would like to congratulate the four athletes that received Gold Medals, but also at all 69 competitors who took part in this historic competition. All of the athletes will return home as ambassadors of Adaptive Surfing. This is only the start of something much bigger and wider reaching that we will see grow and develop in the years to come.”

For a full list of results, visit:

Next, the ISA will head up the coast to Oceanside, California for the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship taking place from October 11 to 18:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 97 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Layne Beachley (AUS), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).